shape
carat
color
clarity

Any discernable difference in close cwt??

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

paulc8125

Rough_Rock
Just curious from those of you much more in the know than me. Is there much of a noticeable difference when looking at a princess cut of say .90 and one of 1.0 or 1.05? Especially when on a setting with side stones? Also wondering what you are looking for in the depth and table and how important that really is. What''s more important as well, the color, cut or clarity? Which would you want the most quality to go into out of those three? Sorry for cramming so much in there!

Lorelei

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
Welcome
35.gif
I am not an expert on Princess cuts but I will try to help as best I can.

Firstly carat weight is a measure of weight and doesn't necessarily mean size. The dimensions or diameter measurements of the diamond will mean more with face up size. This means that a well cut .90 diamond could look as big as a not so great cut 1 carat. This can also be referred to as spread - for example if a .92 ct diamond has the spread of a 1 ct - they just hide or show their weight differently, especially if a diamond is too deep or has a very thick girdle which can hide carat weight.

Depth and table have to be considered with cut - which is the most important factor in choosing a diamond. A well cut diamond will outshine many others so never skimp on cut quality, it is what makes a diamond beautiful. There is info under knowledge which will help you to see the suggested proportions for Princesses, there is a lot of reading to do.