shape
carat
color
clarity

Advice from teachers (and parents), please

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

darkeyesredshoes

Shiny_Rock
I am an elementary school teacher, and today I found out that one of my students passed away. I was her most recent teacher and am heartbroken.

I found out from a parent of one of my other students, and I told her that I would take care of contacting the school. I called my principal and she is going to handle letting the teachers know.

This has never happened to me before, and I''m at a loss for what to do. I will attend the services when I find out where and when they''ll be, and my dad (another teacher) recommended that the principal and I visit the family if they are open to it.

What do I do? Has this happened to anybody else? It''s summer vacation - which will probably make the news less traumatic but also less real for the other students, as they are very young - but I''m not sure how else I can support my students and their families. I have a very good relationship with the family, but I don''t want to overstep during such a horrible time.

Teachers, has this ever happened to you? What did you do? Parents, what would you want the teacher to do?

Lynnie

Brilliant_Rock
How sad
15.gif

Maybe you could take up a collection from the faculty and send a nice floral display to the funeral? I''m sorry, I don''t really have any other suggestions. I never know what to do or say when someone dies, and a child''s death just take it to another level...

neatfreak

Super_Ideal_Rock