shape
carat
color
clarity

Mom's Pearls - Advice Please

ExplorePS

Rough_Rock
Hello fellow nacre (beginner here and just learned that word and putting it to use before I forget) lovers and experts! and experts! I'm still new to the pearl world and started bonding with my mom over this topic. She was right that as you get older, pearls become more interesting... haha : ) She doesn't live close by and shared some photos with me. I learned that these were passed from her own mother. Also it is a sweet gesture and she said that these items would get passed down to me as her only daughter. Sadly, she doesn't prefer to wear these items anymore (though I do encourage her to take the time to put it on at least for special occasions!!).

She has already shared other jewelry pieces that she doesn't wear to me and I've learned from jewelers that some of it it was costume jewelry (no big deal but I just don't want to mistreat anything with value or part ways with something and not get an even trade for it). The photo isn't great but just curious, any thoughts on what these type of pearls might be? Is it a safe assumption that these are pearls with some value if there were diamonds (I'm assuming these are real), attached to the pearls?

Also, if I'm more of a simple design gal, for the earrings would it be better to pay a jeweler to take it apart? For instance, I can imagine myself wearing pearl studs but not quite my style with the diamond "halo" for lack of better word around it as they are not removable jackets from what I understand.