shape
carat
color
clarity

Miki 7-7.5 mm strand. Is something amiss?

BoonGrrl

Rough_Rock
Good afternoon! I bought this 16" 7-7.5 mm pearl choker about 17 years ago, secondhand. There is no hanging M charm. The pearls came with the box, pouch, paperwork and this valuation. What puzzles me is the paperwork has them graded at A+ yet the clasp has a diamond. I read somewhere a diamond clasp was reserved for the top tier pearls (AA & AAA for Mikis). Is this 100% true? I am still learning about pearls. The string looks nice, but they don't have that high luster of the most $$$ prized pearls, yet I know that Miki can be inconsistent with grading. As I Google the product code, U75216W, I see retailers selling strands like this, in size and grade but I see both diamond and pearl clasps, so this seems inconsistent.

Should I bring them in to an authorized Miki store to have the hanging M added, restringing and revaluation? What do you guys think? 20230605_113009.jpg 20230605_113853.jpg 20230605_112823.jpg

pearlsngems

Ideal_Rock
Premium
I cannot speak to the question about whether the diamond clasp is ever used for lower grade strands (not that A+ is low; it's just lower than, say, AAA.) Miki has done various things with clasps over the years.
Nor is this about inconsistency in grading. An A+ strand can't be expected to have the luster of a AAA strand.

Your necklace is beautiful, and will look even better if it is restrung. Silk gets weak with age and exposure to skin oils and pollution; it also stretches and little gaps form between the pearls. All pearl necklaces need periodic restringing.

Unless the M charm is important to you, you can have the necklace restrung wherever you like, or can even do it yourself. I restring all my pearls myself.

pearlsngems

Ideal_Rock
Premium
Also the gimp (French wire), which protects the thread where it meets the clasp, has tarnished; when the necklace is restrung it will be replaced.

NY_Resonant

Shiny_Rock