shape
carat
color
clarity

Why do colored stone prices vary so much by vendor?

2Neezers

Brilliant_Rock
Premium
Hi Everyone,

I am new to colored stones and have been browsing all of the sites you recommend.
I am noticing that pricing varies a lot from vendor to vendor. Since I am so new to this, I am just curious what the reason for this is.
Are the higher priced vendors carrying premium cuts and colors? Can equally good stones be found at the lower priced vendors? I have seen some beautiful stones on PS from the more moderately priced vendors.
Just curious.

Thanks!

2Neezers

Brilliant_Rock
Premium
Oops! I posted this in the wrong forum. I just asked the moderator to move it to Colored Stones.

Passafire

Rough_Rock
I am in no means any kind of expert, so take anything I say with a grain of salt. I've spent the last few months searching/researching/reading on yellow diamonds, as my lady is 100% sure she wants a yellow as her center stone for her e-ring.

I've seen what you see, somewhat large swings on diamonds that, on paper, are pretty close to the same. I think it mostly has to do with the color of the stone that makes the price vary a lot. With yellow diamonds, a slightly deeper/richer/fancier yellow seems to be able to jump the price on similar stones as much as 20%. If you go from say a light fancy, to a fancy vivid... you could be paying twice as much, or more.

From what I've been able to learn as far as colored stones go as the specs on paper are slightly less important than say a regular diamond...and can tell you less about the stone itself. Seeing the stone first hand and being able to compare seems to be slightly higher of importance for getting what you want. It's made online shopping hard... I've already had to send my first e-ring purchase back because the fancy yellow center stone was not at all what I was expecting when I received it.

Dancing Fire

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium