shape
carat
color
clarity

Old private Opals...

diagem

Ideal_Rock
Trade
I have a few Opals in my collection, i have no knowledge about them what-so-ever...
I know they are at least 40-50 yrs old.
I also know Opals are becoming popular again in some jewelry designs.
Any opinions or info about them are welcomed.

Thanx in advance.

Black Opals:

blackopal-1.png

White Opals:

whiteopal-1.png

ETA: dont mind the few Tiger eyes in the mix..., sorry:)

Mikla

Shiny_Rock
Premium
Those are some beautiful opals! I especially adore the black opals that appear blue to my eye. I think they would be gorgeous if set!

My mother gave me a white opal ring when I turned 18 (so 30 years ago :shock: ). I didn't know how to take care of it so at some point I cleaned it with regular jewelry cleaner and ruined it. I still have the ring and your stones reminded me how much I loved that ring. Are you planning to sell some of them? How did you get them? How do you know they are 40-50 years old? Approximately what sizes are they?

JewelFreak

Ideal_Rock
What wonderful opals! The black ones are SO pretty. What sizes are they? So many things could be made from all of them (I like the tiger eyes too -- I have a tiger eye brooch that I love). More info please!

dk168

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
Love the black ones, the larger two will look stunning as pendants or brooches!

DK :love:

diagem

Ideal_Rock
Trade
Mikla|1382891897|3545617 said:
Those are some beautiful opals! I especially adore the black opals that appear blue to my eye. I think they would be gorgeous if set!

My mother gave me a white opal ring when I turned 18 (so 30 years ago :shock: ). I didn't know how to take care of it so at some point I cleaned it with regular jewelry cleaner and ruined it. I still have the ring and your stones reminded me how much I loved that ring. Are you planning to sell some of them? How did you get them? How do you know they are 40-50 years old? Approximately what sizes are they?