shape
carat
color
clarity

Don't know where to start - Yellow Sapphire in Halo

gannon

Rough_Rock
Hello all,

I'm very new to this and would love some of your expertise to help me along my way. Looking for an e-ring in the next couple of months. I'd like a Yellow sapphire in a halo setting with diamond accents. Budget is $2-3k for entire ring.

My questions are as follows:

1. Can I get more for my money by buying loose stones and a setting and having them put together? What are the trade-offs?

2. I've seen the post listing trusted jewelers, but I have no idea where to start looking. What is a good starting point?

3. I've read as much as I can about sapphires, but can somebody help simplify what I can expect to find in my price range.

Thank you so much for your insight,
G

SB621

Ideal_Rock
I would start with treatment as they will dictate price. I'm assuming with your budget you don't mind heating but chemicals treatments is a no :?:

Your price range will vary as the color/ saturation will dictate the price of the sapphire and then the quality of the setting you choose as well. I would think for your price range you could get a nice 7-7.5mm sapphire in a Gabriel and co halo setting for 3k that is way doable.

It would also help if you posted what shape you were interested in as well as colors that you liked (with pictures if possible).

RTFrog

Shiny_Rock
Hi Gannon,

1. Loose stones allow more customization, and it looks like there's quite a few to fit your budget. The tradeoff is the setting may take some time, and you won't be having a complete ring finished all at once.

Here's a link to some yellow sapphires all within your budget.

http://www.gemfix.com/sapphire_yellow_orange.html
http://www.mastercutgems.com/index.php?page=viewgem&id=6941

2. See above for some very nice sapphires in your budget range.