shape
carat
color
clarity

Stone Evaluation help

bmck100

Rough_Rock
Currently looking for a sapphire engagement ring and have my eye on a pink sapphire one.

9mmx7.2mm Natural Pink Ceylon sapphire ring from an estate sale. Wondering if some of you experienced folks could let me know what you think of the main stone.

__kgrhqn__n0figfp5ebbbsdyiptlww__60_57.jpg __kgrhqv__q8fhnf8-om2bsdyhor-qq__60_57.jpg

GregS

Brilliant_Rock
I see a purple stone with an enormous window. :(sad

bmck100

Rough_Rock
yeah, that's kind of what I thought re the window but I am new to this so wasn't sure.

OTL

Brilliant_Rock
I don't think it's a pink sapphire? I see a subtle lavender/purple color, which I do like. But that window is very large. Not sure about treatment on the stone.

minousbijoux

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
Ditto to what others have said. Unless it was super cheap, I would move on.

bmck100

Rough_Rock
minousbijoux|1377282289|3508757 said:

Listed price is $650 and they list the setting as having .30 carats of diamonds F/VS-SI1

Barrett

Ideal_Rock
not the....the......bay window........noooooo

eastjavaman

Shiny_Rock
I like the color of lavender(it is too far from pink BTW :geek: ). If it is natural untreated (it looks big), consider to have it recut to remove the window.

_9376.jpg

T L

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
bmck100|1377287527|3508791 said:
minousbijoux|1377282289|3508757 said:

Listed price is $650 and they list the setting as having .30 carats of diamonds F/VS-SI1

The price seems reasonable for the setting alone, and that's what I would buy it for, not the stone.

chrono

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
If you want a pink stone, you will be sorely disappointed, but if you want a purplish lavender stone, then that's the colour it shows on my monitor. The cut is definitely lacking but I'm not sure if it is a good candidate for a recut.

pregcurious

Ideal_Rock