shape
carat
color
clarity

Aussie considering online diamond purchase

Supers

Shiny_Rock
Hello all,

I''ve been lurking for the past few weeks trying to gather more knowledge, but think I''m just getting more confused and overwhelmed with all the options, hence my first post.

Today, the BF and I went to Holloway Diamonds - our first scouting trips, primarily as I''d heard how great Holloway Diamonds are. They were beautiful, but I suspect that there may be better buys online... purely from a price perspective. Mind you, I''m a total novice, so I could be off track...

I''d be happy with a diamond of 0.8 carats and up, D-G, VS1-SI2 (as long as it''s eyeclean). Cut is important - I want sparkles and fire. While bigger would be nice, realistically I''ve got a size 4.5 finger, so would probably get good coverage from something smaller? The BF said the budget for the whole ring is around $7K but willing to go to $10K. I''m also conscious of not overspending as I think the money saved would go towards a great holiday/other bills etc.

In terms of setting, I''d like something with shoulder diamonds like these but in yellow gold (with white/platinum setting):

Petite Pave Set Cathedral

Whiteflash Pave

I''ve always loved round brilliants but have been looking at videos of the August Vintage Cushions on GOG and could easily have one of them! However, doing a search on Pricescope and GOG, there are obviously heaps more RB diamonds out there than AVCs. When I compare the cheapest available AVC with an RB of similar specs and price from GOG, I can''t tell if the AVC ASET is any good?

http://www.goodoldgold.com/diamond/7138/
http://www.goodoldgold.com/diamond/6889/

Should I just concentrate on RBs for more bang for my buck?