Votes: 1 9.1%

Votes: 0 0.0%

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Other

Votes: 1 9.1%

• Total voters

goldbandgirl

Rough_Rock
So as some of you know, I'm trying to find an oval blue/green sapphire above two carats.

Here are some I'm looking at. I'd appreciate any insights into these gems - maybe I'm missing something (good or bad). I'm an amateur when it comes to gemstones, so even though I feel like I've done a lot of research over the past few months, there's a lot I don't understand. (Also, I read the sticky for newcomers). I'm hoping your trained eyes can help me choose the perfect stone.
I am also open to any suggestions.
Of course, my other option is to have a rough stone custom cut. I'm considering it, but it would certainly be easier to find one that's already cut and polished.
Also, I haven't contacted Andrew or Ed yet. I will once I've narrowed down my search.

Here are two from Wild Fish Gems:

1. http://www.wildfishgems.com/inc/sdetail/11078/16212

2. http://www.wildfishgems.com/inc/sdetail/10880/18182 -bluer than I usually like, but it's a nice, icy blue that's still unique.

From GemFix:
Most of these are heated.

screen_shot_2015-03-31_at_3_3.png

screen_shot_2015-03-31_at_3_2.png

screen_shot_2015-03-31_at_3_1.png

screen_shot_2015-03-31_at_3_0.png

screen_shot_2015-03-31_at_3.png

T L

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
Re: Found more sapphires. Help me condense and/or expand my

The Wildfish gems are way too expensive IMO, even though they are unheated. I think the gemfix prices are more in line with reality, but if you like the Wildfish gems, maybe he can negotiate them down. I personally think he's one of the most overpriced vendors ever. I really dislike the first one because I don't care for the cutting, color, tone, price per carat, or anything about it

I don't care much for Montana sapphires, so I won't vote, but I would just avoid anything overly dark. Check with each vendor on tone, and I wouldn't go darker than medium (don't do medium dark, or dark).

ETA: