shape
carat
color
clarity

Non-Solitaire Engagement Ring

Mr. Personality

Rough_Rock
Hi all, I'm a newbie and was really happy to find this forum. Thanks to everyone who's contributed; it was a really great place to start my engagement ring research.

Now down to business, my girlfriend isn't big into jewelry and especially not rings with any sort of rock. Her style would definitely be more non-solitaire, diamonds not riding high, that sort of thing (wouldn't want it catching on anything), but I don't want to go with just a fancy band since I think there should still be some sort of engagement ring feel to it. Do any of you ladies on here have a similar type of ring (or desire for that type of ring)? I really like these that I've found, am I missing anything in meeting what she'd want?

Seville1.jpgSeville2.jpg

Vienna1.jpgVienna2.jpg

Custom1.jpgCustom2.jpg

Thanks!

vsc

Shiny_Rock
Hi there Mr. Personality,

It sounds like what you're trying to avoid is the standard "tiffany style" high prong-set solitaire. Technically, a solitaire means that there is one main stone :) so you might find a solitaire that fits your needs. Unfortunately I don't own such a ring to show you, but I can try to give you some input...

I think a style that would work for your girlfriend is anything set in a low bezel (such as the second one you showed) or half-bezel (like the first one). You might try to search using "bezel" as a keyword to see some ideas.

Has she ever commented on stone shapes and styles that she likes? Some people feel strongly for/against square or round shapes, ornate engraving, pave, symmetry, etc. Does she usually enjoy modern shapes with clean lines, or more antique, ornate ones? (maybe in small decorative objects, if she doesn't wear jewelry) Can any of her friends/female relatives give you any information?