shape
carat
color
clarity

Should I buy this cushion---Pic included >>

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

melpla

Shiny_Rock
Here is a pic of a cushion Mark T sent me today. All I know so far is that it is a .77 carat stone...but he said that it looks larger, so it must have nice spread. I don''t know any other specs on it...when we spoke last week, he did say it was an "Ex/Ex" stone (or x/x?) and I''m not sure if that means excellent polish/symmetry or something else. Anyway, let me know what you think of the photo...this is my first time attaching a photo on this forum, so hopefully it''ll work...

Thanks for your feedback!!! Please let me know what you think :)

ERDcushion.jpg

neatfreak

Super_Ideal_Rock
As usual, Mark's pictures aren't the best, but I still say it looks like it will be a great performer! You can't go wrong with an x/x (and yes it means excellent symmetry AND polish) hand picked by Mark!

I have a .81 from Mark and it's a great size IMO.

boston_jeff

Brilliant_Rock
I think when Mark talks about x/x cushions he is also talking about the modern cushion brilliant facet pattern (like your stone and neatfreak's). Nearly all of those stones are x/x, and very few other cushions are.

Edit: It looks very nice, and I would certainly trust Mark's eyes w/r/t choosing a modern cushion in particular.

musey

Super_Ideal_Rock
Date: 8/6/2007 8:51:48 PM
Author: neatfreak
As usual, Mark''s pictures aren''t the best, but I still say it looks like it will be a great performer! You can''t go wrong with an x/x (and yes it means excellent symmetry AND polish) hand picked by Mark!

I have a .81 from Mark and it''s a great size IMO.
I just wanted to second that last thought, neatfreak. I think the .7-1ct. range really captures the cushion shape well. The most beautiful cushions on PS that I can think of are all around that weight.