shape
carat
color
clarity

Question for Chan and whomever else may know...

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

gee5088

Rough_Rock
Hello Chan,

In a reply you made earlier today to a question from peptidbond, you noted that a stone with a lower score on the HCA (below 1 specifically) would appear "more brilliant than firey". Could you elaborate? By firey do you mean more flashes of color? I've been lurking for a few months now and we'll be purchasing a stone with an HCA score of 0.7 (EX/EX/EX/EX). It's an AGS Ideal
1.03 ct F/SI2 (eye-clean) and am now wondering should we be concerned with this lower score? I've read much and I know for some a score between 1-2 is ideal but still don't fully understand why. Please help! Thanks in advance...

chantheman

Rough_Rock
Let me preface this by saying that I am not an expert. I am relying on the explanation provided by Gary Holloway in the HCA tutorial. It will also provide some information about the differences between TIC (Tolkowsky Ideal Cuts), BIC's (Brilliant ideal Cuts), and FIC's (Firey Ideal Cuts). The reality of this situation is that there are many things that can affect the level of fire eminating from a diamond. The diamond My fiance' has scored a 1.4 on the HCA, yet I still see quite a bit of brilliance.

Hopefully one of the real experts will post some information here as I, like you could surely use some additional specifics. Most likely it is related to an area of physics that is far too complicated for me to understand.

Per Gary's Tutorial

====================================================================================================================================
"Stones near the center of the red region, those with the lowest scores, are often the least affected by small symmetry variations.