shape
carat
color
clarity

Please help with diamond decision please.

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

SwerveAM

Rough_Rock
Hi,

I am glad to be looking for a diamond but all of this is pretty new to me. I have been reading a lot on the forums and been shopping around a lot. As of now, there is a stone that i have in mind.

It is an independent company in Maryland- Nelson Coleman Jewlers in Towson.

I was shown many stones (w/o knowing the specs/price) and managed to pick out HOF diamonds amongst their own "ultimate" cut diamond.

However, I am now torn between the HOF and their cut diamond as the one I am pondering not only has a better location of inclusion but the stone also rated better on the ISee2 system. I understand that i shouldn't fully trust the machine but I am a scientist that has worked with similar machines and I am only using it as a FINAL test.

The stone specs are

.77 ct
H color
SI1

Table 56%
Crown Angle 34.3
Pav Angle 40.9
Total Depth 61%
Girdle 0.8-1.3%

All this was from an AGS cert.

The question I have is that the jewler is quoting a price of $5000 for the stone. Is that a reasonable price or am I being taken for a sucker? When I put the specs into the cut advisor, it says the stone is good. As for the inclusion, it is a feather near the edge, on the pavillion, so it can be covered by a prong.

What do you guys think?

Edit:

Also, I looked at a HOF and this stone under an brilliance scope, i believe, not the ideal scope. The arrows were approx. the same in symmetry and were distinct but the hearts on the non-HOF was MUCH better. There was more of a "split" of the hearts on the HOF, which was unexpected for me at least. I know that HOF isn't the best but I was still surprised to see that their own ultimate cut came out better than the HOF at $1000 less.

kenny

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
Better color

Better HCA score
$1500 less.