shape
carat
color
clarity

Please Help Me Find Best Canadian Stone (Round Brilliant)

rar25

Rough_Rock
I'm very happy to have found this forum of experts because I'm very much a novice when it comes to diamonds--and I could use your help!

I'm interested in finding a GIA-certified, round brilliant diamond that's from Canada for an engagement ring. (I know there's some discussion about whether those interested in buying conflict-free diamonds should really buy from Canada, but suffice it to say that it's important to my girlfriend that the diamond be Canadian.) I've shopped around at some local vendors, but the Canadian stones they showed me weren't of very impressive quality and, for one reason or another, it's been difficult to find a vendor I can trust. All of this has brought me to the internet.

I'm working with a budget of about $7,000. (I'm a graduate student and won't be able to go much higher than that.) Like most people, I'd like to get the largest-looking diamond that I can for that price, and so I've been thinking of prioritizing carat and cut and sacrificing clarity (to an SI1 or SI2, for instance). But I don't really know how wise that is, and I do know that a lot depends on the particular stone.

If with my budget I can get a diamond a bit over 1 carat, that would be ideal for me. I know that this becomes less possible as the stones approach, say, 1.2 carats, but I'd like to see what's available.

I'm going to continue doing some reading, and I'll start to get in touch with online vendors. I'm not really sure how this works from here, but if anyone has any leads, suggestions, or advice, I'd greatly appreciate your help. I'm beginning to feel like I'm in over my head.

Thanks in advance!

smoothmoose

Rough_Rock
Re: Please Help Me Find Best Canadian Stone (Round Brilliant

Hi Rar25,