shape
carat
color
clarity

Looking for advise for 1st ring purchase

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

KevinB

Rough_Rock
Okay so I am looking to purchase a ring in the next month. I have been all over town with the girlfriend looking at rings and figuring out what she really wants. She has settled on an Emerald Cut Center stone with 2 princess or emerald cut stones on the side and then baggettes or small princess cuts in a channel setting down the sides. She also wants the band to be etched so that it has an antique look to it. Kinda like the Tacori style but not quite that ornate.

I have seen some local rings but the pricing from the local stores has been rather high compared to some of the stones etc that I have seen online.

I have some basic knowledge of stones now and the 4 c's but with the emerald cut stone it is pretty important to get good color and clarity because you can see right through the stone. I have seen a few stones in person but I'm scared to spend $2k on a stone without even seeing it in person. Although i really dont think I could tell quality with so little experience. I might be a little more concerned about they rest of the ring so I was thinking of getting the center stone and maybe the 2 side stones online and then have a ring made locally.

I would like some advise on this idea or if it would be just better to deal with someone locally who will warranty the ring and offer free cleanings and inspections over the life of the ring. Or if anyone has had good luck with having a ring made from an online store that would be great to get some references from.

Attached is pretty close to what she wants.

My budget is around $3500 total.
I was thinking of a .62-.72 Emerald Cut, Color F-H, VVS1-VS1.

I found this center stone on BlueNile but I dont know much about Flouresence and how noticable this will be.
Price - $1900
Carat weight: 0.68
Cut: Very Good
Color: F
Clarity: VVS2