shape
carat
color
clarity

Larger table than depth?

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

harvey

Rough_Rock
Hello all. I am brand new to this diamond stuff. I recently picked out a diamond 1.23 carat, G-color, SI2(one feather and twoclear crystals, all off the table) 60%table and 58.8% depth, Ex polish/symmetry, slight -med flourscence, GIA cert. The diamond looks great, but I have only really looked at ~10 diamonds. After researching cut in great detail today I am kinda worried about the table and depth percentages. The diamond does not score well with cut on the AGS scale b/c its not 59% depth, however it does score well on the AGA scale. I do not have the pavillion and crown angles and do not think that I can get them. Is it bad that the table and depth are at opposite end of thier respective ranges when grading out for cut? The stone is for an engagement ring and it looks bigger than a 1.23 carat, which is expected and I like that. Does anyone think I should go for something with a little better proportions. According to the "new" Gia study "some diamonds with larger tables exemplify more brilliance" yeah but with what depth proportions? I''m confused. Any input would be greatly appreciated. Thanks ahead of time.

Magnum

Shiny_Rock
It's hard to comment on the cut of the diamond without crown and pavilion angles. Those in the 60/60 camp might say it looks pretty good, but personally, I would need more information to make that determination. Seeing it with your own eyes is definitely one of the most important tests, but make sure you've seen some diamonds with excellent cut that you can compare it to.