shape
carat
color
clarity

grandmother''s old diamond ring

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

palegirl888

Rough_Rock
Hi Everyone,
I haven''t been on here that long and i am still learning about this whole process, but here is my story. My bf and I have been talking about getting engaged for a while now. My grandmother passed away around 4 years ago and left a ring for my mom. My mom gave it to me and now my bf and I want to use the diamond from the center of the ring and re-set it. This ring is really old and from Argentina, where my bubbie was born. The ring is platinum I think and very ornate with 5 baguettes going around the outside on one side and 3 tiny round diamonds set in a paisley shape on the other side. It is set VERY high on many long stalks and the diamond in the center, set even higher than the other setting for the other stone, is set with 6 prongs. I think the diamond in the center is around .80 ct. Anyway, we don''t have enough money to buy a new diamond so we are using this one but part of me wants to get it appraised just to know what exactly it is and what quality. I am sure the quality isn''t very good because it''s a little dark, but it might just need to be taken out of the setting and cleaned.