shape
carat
color
clarity

The Talk

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

still waiting

Rough_Rock
All right ladies, what do you think. It''s been 6 years that we''ve been dating because we were going to wait til'' I completed my degree to get married. I will be graduating this Summer and we have yet to look at rings, set dates or any of that stuff. So this week,
2.gif
I am going to have "the talk" with him because it''s time. What do you think? Thoughts! Comments! Guys, I''d love to hear your thoughts.

magna2

Shiny_Rock
StillWaiting,

This is just one guy's point of view - but my recommendation is to not have "the talk" that you are contemplating. I am afraid that you are approaching it the wrong way. Not knowing your relationship nor the marriage discussions that you may or may not have had, I get a feel of certain expectations that you have that are not shared with your boyfriend.

There is a right way to approach it and a wrong way. My sense is that you are taking the wrong way. It is alright to bring up the marriage question especially if you have had prior discussions and were in agreement with your future plans. But please check the "attitude" at the door. I am not sure what you mean by "the talk" nor do I understand your reasoning of "it's time". Done improperly, it comes across as an ultimatum. What guy needs that kind of headache? Subtly ask him, if you have had past discussions, what are the future plans now that you are graduating. Do not, under any circumstance, ask him where the heck is the ring and what is the date.

If you are fired up to have this "talk" I would recommend that you hold off until some time has passed after your graduation to give the guy a chance.