carat
color
clarity

PSA Never follow a truck carrying tanks of compressed gas

kenny

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
PSA, everyone please watch this.
Try to watch it all: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VJ-fBgzwikA&feature=player_embedded#at=14

When I worked in a lab that used such tanks I remember we had to use a strap to secure each one to a bench.
We were told very bad things can happen if one falls over.

SNIP: ompressed gas cylinders are powerful concentrations of potential energy. Any pressure vessel used to store gases at above-atmospheric pressure can be described as a bomb (or at least bomb-like). Under the wrong set of circumstances, they can release that energy in lethal explosive events.
http://www.xpresstags.com/blog/hazards-of-compressed-gas-storage/

screen_shot_2014-03-08_at_10.png

TooPatient

Ideal_Rock
Premium
Re: PSA Never follow a truck carrying tanks of compressed ga

I hate following trucks with that sort of thing! Makes me nervous as I know what they can do...

Thanks for posting the reminder!

AGBF

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium

kenny|1394346029|3630368 said:

Catchy music and pyrotechnics, I must admit, but not entertaining if one was worried about the driver. Do you know if he made it out alive? I saw a comment that said, "The driver gets out at 0:27. He is safe." That makes me feel better!

Deb

TC1987

Brilliant_Rock

Friggin' third world, ain't it.

Note that the valves break off and the cylinders become torpedoes, in addition to the explosions and shrapnel. A good sized cylinder can easily go through a concrete block wall or maybe even two without slowing down much. That's why they have to be kept in cylinder stands and/or chained in the workplace.