shape
carat
color
clarity

Long term Birth Control that is not permanent...TMI

ame

Super_Ideal_Rock
So my Mirena is about to come out, and I am asking for it to be removed emergency tomorrow because I think it's trying to like...escape and I don't want this to be a problem on vacation. I don't know what to do about BC though. I liked Mirena in that I didn't have to worry about pills or anything, but my body was always trying to force it out. So it was always kind of a problem. We don't plan to have kids, but DH immediately freaked at the word permanent in a few of the options my dr suggested last year and neither of us really likes the permanence of permanent. I suck at pills so I don't know if I want to go back on OTC again. I HATED the ring. I loved the patch but my skin did not.

What do you use, and how does it work?

packrat

Super_Ideal_Rock
ARGH stupid internet I just lost my post.

I've been using the ring for about 6 years and hate it. Looked into Essure I think it's called but passed b/c of scary reviews-lots of pain and cramping. I have a thread on here about it in FHH. JD is supposed to be getting a vascectomy but it's been 6 years now so who knows when that's going to happen. I'm not sure what other options there are for non-permanent bc options. What does your Dr. suggest?

mrs jam

Brilliant_Rock
Before my husband had his vasectomy, we used good, old-fashioned condoms. I'm a bit cuckoo about avoiding anything that artificially disrupts hormones, so I've never been on any type of hormonal birth control. Once we decided about a year ago that we were not interested in having kids, he had a vasectomy. I definitely prefer the way things are now, but condoms were never a problem for me, either.

LoveLikeCrazy

Brilliant_Rock
i use the ring and i love it!