shape
carat
color
clarity

Whose career is most important?

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

Elmorton

Ideal_Rock
How did/do you and your partner decide career moves?

I''m curious because DH and I are both in fields where jobs are pretty sparse. When I finished grad school, he started the job hunt because he was ready to move up from where he was. Very soon he found a better job, and so I followed him to the city where we currently live.

However, the situation has pretty much flip-flopped. When I graduated, I really didn''t have enough on my resume to compete in the job market, so it made sense for us to make decisions based on DH''s career. However, I''ve gained enough part-time experience that I think I could be a solid candidate for a full-time position in my field, but that would likely mean moving (unless I wait for a wave of retirement here - estimate on that is a couple of years).

Since I have a higher earning potential, it makes sense for us to move to a place where there''s a job for me. But...I''m so proud of DH and I can''t imagine him doing anything other than what he does (which he probably couldn''t do if we just picked up and moved). I know he feels the same way - he truly, truly loves his job. I suppose that''s one respect where we''re very lucky - we both absolutely love what we do. But, it makes the decision-making process a lot harder.

So I guess my question is more specifically, do you make decisions based solely on the bottom line (who earns more?) or do other factors come into play?

Haven

Super_Ideal_Rock
This is tough, El, especially since you''re in academia where jobs are sparse, and it sounds like your DH is in field with similar prospects.