shape
carat
color
clarity

Should my family pay me while they are on vacation?

lilylover

Shiny_Rock
I am a nanny to a wonderful family. I have been working for them for over 3 years. At first it was just once or twice a week for a few hours at a time, now it's three days a week and around 20-24 hours a week. It has been like this for over a year.

I am really close with the parents, we talk like friends and they attended my wedding last month. They are going on vacation next week, so I will not be getting paid for those 20 hours that I usually would be getting income for. Now, at this point in my life it's not a huge deal... I am not depending on that money. However, they don't know my financial situation and if their vacation fell in the month of August it could very well make things slightly tight money-wise. Do you think that I should ask them to pay me while they are on vacation from now on? I don't really know how to bring it up, the fact that we are so close/casual with one another almost makes it more awkward for me to bring something like this up.

Opinions? Ideas on how to bring it up?

Thank you!

Mara

Super_Ideal_Rock
i would say that if you have not addressed it previous to this, ii wouldn't ask them with one week notice to pay them for the time you won't be with their kids.

but if you would like to address it for the future, bring it up after they return so that it's in place and agreed to for their next vacation.

personally since it's a PT gig... i don't know that i would ask for payment, but maybe you can negotiate it with them and if they don't want to pay full, maybe settle on something like 1/2 with 1-2 months of pre-notice so that you can budget accordingly.

TravelingGal

Super_Ideal_Rock
I have a nanny who works 12 hours a week. I absolutely pay her if I am going on vacation. I assume she relies on that income and I don't think it's fair that she doesn't get paid because I want to take a vacation.