shape
carat
color
clarity

Tsavorite Custom Ring via DanielM

mimB

Shiny_Rock
I am delurking to document the process of working with Caren and Dan of DanielMJewelry @ http://www.etsy.com/shop/danielmjewelry to create a tsavorite ring.
It's my first time on a custom jewelry project, and I don't foresee many occasions to repeat the experience - this will be my "relationship ring" (the splurge on a piece of jewelry around the engagement/wedding time). So that's my main reason for this thread. My second reason is that the ring setting will likely take 1-2 months, and I need moral support not to chew off my hands while waiting for the final product!

I contacted DanielM with the following request - a five stone bezel ring, size 10, delicate. Rose gold for the bezels and argentium silver for the band of 2-3mm width. Bezels that are open on the sides if possible to let in light. The stones:
>> Center Stone: tsavorite, 6mm x 5 mm cushion from Bruce @ Tsavorite.com (here's the thread of me choosing the stone: https://www.pricescope.com/community/threads/looking-for-a-tsavorite-on-a-budget.177922/)
>> Inner side stones: 3mm off-round sapphires from Yvonne @ Cecile Raley Desings (listing: https://www.etsy.com/transaction/97280917)
>> Outer side stones: 4mm round rhodolite garnets from Yvonne also (listing: https://www.etsy.com/transaction/105041882)

The design doodle I ended up going with:

The photo of the stone layout:

One of the first things Caren told me as she responded to my custom order request was that a CAD would be necessary to see if the stones could actually be laid out as I wanted. Specifically, laying them out side by side would mean around a minimum of 24mm of finger coverage (assuming .5mm width for each bezel) - which is a lot! It's almost an inch. I realized that even for fingers as chubby as mine (size 10-11), an inch of stone real estate would likely result in me banging the ring on everything my hand comes across.