shape
carat
color
clarity

How should I set fancy oval andalusite?

SeeingSunshine

Rough_Rock
Hi everyone! First time poster and CS newbie here.

I recently purchased my first loose cs, a .45ct andalusite. It is dainty, beautiful and the brown/green color is right up my alley. I know I want to set it as a ring in yellow gold, but from there I'm lost. I have only seen these types of fancy ovals as loose gems, not set in jewelry. Any advice or pictures of similarly shaped gems in settings would be much appreciated!

img_6000.jpg

img_1745.jpg

img_1739.jpg

img_1744_0.jpg

lilmosun

Ideal_Rock
Premium
I know you are thinking YG and agree given the cut/colors that would probably be the way I would tend to go.

But I bought this WG andalusite ring pre-loved for the setting (I am more a winter color person). I ended up falling in love with the total package despite not being an autumn colored stone person. Never thought I would be a fan of andalusite but now am.

Your stone is beautiful and I am sure you will love it even more once set like I do mine :)

andalusite.jpg

Marlow

Brilliant_Rock
You bought a beautiful cut andalusite! Small but really nice - the cut is perfect for this gem with such a strong trichroism.

LoversKites

Brilliant_Rock
Awesome colours. I love it. YG sounds good, unfortunately I have no idea how those types of ovals are set.

Starzin

Brilliant_Rock
Lovely stone and cut - but really needs a protective setting at 6-6.5 Mohs. Note this is not an everyday stone - it will damage quite easily. Put it on when you leave the house and take it off the minute you get home - it's a lot softer than tourmaline for instance.

Perhaps something like these which are a little different, since you're into that ;))

While these show rounds or hexagons, I'm sure they could be tweaked for octagonal.