shape
carat
color
clarity

Blue sapphire for engagement ring. SOS!

devaughnb

Rough_Rock
My gf and i have settled on a blue sapphire for her e-ring. Most likely it will be set in a platinum Van Craeynest ring. Most likely style #1020.

I am a researcher by nature and really want to make sure i buy something that is of quality and hold its value!

So far ive been looking at round unheated stones in the 2ct range. Mostly from Sri Lanka or Madagascar. Unfortunately, prices are all over the place ($4000 - 7000) and its been very hard to even find round sapphires at all outside of gemsny and natural sapphire.

Where do you all recommend i look? Also, how different are retail and individual broker prices?

Here is one stone ive found together with its certificate. Unfortunately, that's as big as the picture gets. What range might a stone like this go for? To my uneducated eye it looks great. I was a bit worried about the depth... But, what do i know. You all probably know more than me!

Thanks for any help!

D

2ctrbc.jpg

img_0529.jpg

new-beginning

Shiny_Rock
have you tried Master Cut gems? Are you looking for a fairly dark stone (like the one you pictured?) or somewhat lighter stone?

corundum_conundrum

Shiny_Rock
Premium
gemfix.com has plenty of rounds.

spectralgems.com has some rounds--mostly heated.

Rounds are not very common in sapphires because of the naturally occurring shape of the rough, so you may have to make some sacrifices in overall quality, and pay a premium to stay within the round shape.