shape
carat
color
clarity

2.5ct Emerald on 4.5 Finger

john31

Rough_Rock
Hi all,

Apologies if I have posted this topic in the wrong section (I'm a newbie!)

I'm in the market for an engagement ring and I have successfully been able to determine my partner's ring size without her knowing.

It's 4.5 which I have been told is quite small. The diamond I'm currently looking at is a 2.5ct emerald cut (9.4 x 6.5) in a solitaire setting.

When I advised the jeweller of her ring size, she said "that diamond would look massive on her tiny hands!". I honestly couldn't really tell if it was a "good" or bad" kind of massive. She then said something like "so we're not looking for a very practical ring then, right?".

The whole experience left me very unsure as to whether this was a good choice. I have always wanted to get a larger diamond but the jeweller's reaction has gotten me all mixed up.

I would be really interested to hear opinions of posters and especially those with pictures of similar sized emeralds on small fingers.

Thanks so much!

SparklySoprano

Brilliant_Rock
First, size is always relative! But, you may get better luck finding help by posting your question in rocky talk. This page is for after you are engaged and your fiancée wants to share the bling. :D

One question to ponder for now... Do you know she definitely wants an emerald and of that size? It seems like that may be the case since you were pretty specific.

Also my finger size is 4.5. While that is small, I've seen some fingers in the 3 and lower range. Depending on her line of work, if she's comfortable and loves bling, why not?! I'm disappointed, although not surprised that you would hear that type of response from someone who potentially would like to make a sale. :eh:

Try searching for emerald cut and see what posts pull up. You may find some helpful pics. :sun:

Good luck!

ElleElle

Shiny_Rock