shape
carat
color
clarity

Question about buying diamond earrings

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

jimmysixfingers

Rough_Rock
Hello everyone, I have a couple of novice questions about diamond earrings, which I would like to buy my wife for Christmas.

1. What''s a good carat size (i.e. not too overwhelming) for princess cut earrings? They don''t need to be oversized.

2. What are people''s thoughts on buying loose diamonds for these earrings v. buying already-set diamonds in a reputable brick and mortar store?

Thanks for any help you can provide!!

Lorelei

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
Hi Jimmy and welcome
35.gif
I am not an expert on Princess cuts but I will advise you where I can. I always think it is preferable to choose loose diamonds then the setting, this avoids the " get what you are given" with the pre set diamonds. However some vendors may have some nice preset earrings. Try the PS vendors at the top of the page. I think for size, a good carat weight to go for if you want them to be seen but not too large is .5 carat each ear, but it is a matter of personal preference as to the size your wife prefers - however .5 ct per ear is a lovely size IMO. Popular sizes seem to be between .25, .5 and 1 ct per ear. I would prefer to buy online and take time choosing my diamonds as I have done a few times before, however you might find it more convenient to buy from B&M if they have what you want. Best thing would be too look at the online vendors, compare the quality of their diamonds and setting to the B&M stock. Make the best cut you can get your priority, also with earrings a good clarity to go for might be SI1/ S12 in earrings, maybe a GH or I colour would look very white too. Some I1's too can be eyeclean if you look for them, great bargains for earrings and pendants as they don't normally get the closer scrutiny of a ring. Online vendors will go all out for you, be specific in your requirement