shape
carat
color
clarity

How do you photograph your diamonds so well?

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

Agave

Rough_Rock
I profusely appologize if this question was already asked, but how do you photograph your diamonds?
I''ve been trying SO many times but it always comes out blurry, or it looks all glittery because the fire just ends up blurring

Deelight

Ideal_Rock
I have not photographed diamonds simply cause I have not received mine yet :) But when I have photographed other jewelery the best results for me are with the camera on macro mode and usually have the light to the back of me :).

Also practice makes perfect it does take a bit GL :)

lesco

Brilliant_Rock
I'm far from a photo pro but I have gotten some good shots by practicing.
The basics are to use the macro ( Flower) feature and turn the flash off.
You also need good lighting such as natural sunlight or a desk lamp to shine over your jewelery. Steady pulse and a handful of trying.
I took some good fire shots using my camcorder still photo feature. You can try that also.
Hopefully the expert photographers such as Ellen and Coati ( to name a few... cause we have plenty here) will chime in with more tips.

ericad

Ideal_Rock
Trade
I have had success by doing the following:

1. Macro (flower) setting on camera
2. Set the object on something where there is great light - diffused sunlight works great. My favorite is a windowsill.
3. Prop the camera against something too, so that it''s perfectly still.
4. Take lots of pics! I usually have to take 20 if I want 3 or 4 really great ones.

Good luck!

Ellen

Super_Ideal_Rock
Date: 5/29/2008 9:24:46 PM
Author:Agave
I profusely appologize if this question was already asked, but how do you photograph your diamonds?
I''ve been trying SO many times but it always comes out blurry, or it looks all glittery because the fire just ends up blurring