shape
carat
color
clarity

Hearts and Arrows vs. August Vintage Round - Please Help!!!!

kristi021

Rough_Rock
Hi everyone,

I am new to PS, but would love your input here. We are looking at diamonds and settings and I had my heart set on a Hearts and Arrows, based on a fabulous recommendation from a friend was recently engaged. Our diamond budget is around $18,000. We are looking to set the stone in this setting:

http://www.briangavindiamonds.com/engagement-rings/pave-and-side-stones/dream-half-eternity-truth-head-18k-white-gold-5498w18

After seeing some pictures on PS, I am now considering AVR. Any thoughts on this?! Pros / Cons of each?

Thank you SO much!

mandasand

Brilliant_Rock
Re: Hearts and Arrows vs. August Vintage Round - Please Help

I think that setting would suit an H&A stone better - AVRs are vintage style, therefore they are usually set in vintage settings.

MissGotRocks

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium

You would really have to see them in person to compare - both quite lovely and both different animals. I agree with the previous poster though - for the setting you have selected I think it suits a H&A stone better.

HopeDream

Ideal_Rock

Hi Kristi021,

Here's a video comparing the two types of cuts side by side - it all depends on what your eyes like more.
http://vimeo.com/8619979

Settings can be tricky - try a bunch on ! What you like in pictures and what you actually like on your finger can end up being very different.

Enerchi

Super_Ideal_Rock

I'm another vote for a MRB if you are going to use that BGD Truth setting. If you are drawn to the cushion, I'd be more inclined to go with a much simpler setting - let the uniqueness of the AVC/AVR do the 'talking', not the setting.

Either diamond will be amazing - its just your personal preference. Your eyes are the ones that count, not what others think! :))

diamondseeker2006

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium

HopeDream|1342893951|3237744 said:
Hi Kristi021,