shape
carat
color
clarity

Diamond ring size for a professional women

Menominee

Rough_Rock
I have a dilemma and was hoping to get some feedback from all.
I am a professional woman who works full time. I have a diamond ring 1.36 Ct GIA H-VS1-XXX. It is very sparkly however I always thought it was too small. I also didn't get the vintage setting I liked instead I got a simple half bezel setting. Now 10 years ago our combined household income was 150K so I guess a 1.36ct was reasonable. Most my friends have on average 2.5 ct center stone. It will be our 10 year anniversary soon and I have wanted an upgrade for a while. I am considering a 3.5-4 Ct cushion cut center stone that we have budgeted for about 30K. Keep in mind our household income is now 350K so that was reasonable to my husband. However I do have a dilemma, I am a working girl and feel wearing a 4Ct diamond to work and around mommy and me classes is flashy, and I would like to wear my diamond everyday. I could just change the setting to a beautiful tacori and be able to wear it everyday, but I might then still be envious of most the ladies around me who will still have bigger stones than I do. OR I can spend the 30K and just wear the ring on weekends and to parties and keep it simple at work with my original wedding band. Not sure what to do. I would appreciate your comments.

BeachGirlG

Shiny_Rock
If most of the women in your social circle wear 2.5+ carat diamonds, then I think you'd be fine wearing a larger diamond all the time, not just on weekends. And even if they didn't, I still think you should wear what you love.

Would you purchase a certain car based on what your friends, coworkers, or neighbors drive? Probably not...yet we seem to do this with jewelry.

hearts-arrows_girl

Brilliant_Rock
Well first of all, Congrats on your upcoming 10-year Anniv. :appl: