shape
carat
color
clarity

Diamond is not only fluorescent but phosphorescent...

kemurphy

Shiny_Rock
Premium
My engagement ring arrived today and I absolutely love it! We'll take it to our jeweler tomorrow to get it appraised and re-sized. One thing I'd love to know more about is phosphorescence in diamonds. While playing with my diamond tonight I discovered that it's not only has a blue fluorescence it also has a orange phosphorescence that lasts about 20 seconds.

How common is this? As a scientist I love this but I would love to know more about it! Any information is greatly appreciated!

The ring:
img_5201b.jpg
img_0771b.jpg

The fluorescence:
img_0800b.jpg

The phosphorescence:
img_5261b.jpg

diamondseeker2006

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
Oh, my, that has to be the coolest thing ever!!! :appl: Beautiful ring and I think you have a great diamond!!

gregchang35

Ideal_Rock
That is such a great ring. Fluorescent and phosphorescent... i dont think there are many others out there with this combination!

Congrats!

VRBeauty

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
Your diamond puts on quite the show! Very cool! :appl:

Forgot to add - I love the setting, too!

bunnycat

Ideal_Rock
That's very cool! (And a lovely ring too!)

I searched around on the topic last night when I saw this and there are a few threads out there dealing with the phenomenon but now I can't find the longer of the ones I was looking at (duh) to post here and I also found out the Hope diamond has red phosphorescence.

So I have a question and maybe it's stupid...but if looking at it with a blacklight "charges" it as it were, if you take it out in to the sun for a bit, then go in a dark room, will it phosphoresce? I have a little blacklight that's part of my loupe but I don't know if that is strong enough to cause it if a stone had phosphorescence as well as fluorescence.

mercoledi

Ideal_Rock