shape
carat
color
clarity

Mixing metals - will platinum destroy 18k rose gold?

pricescopegal10

Rough_Rock
Hey everyone! This is my first time posting on here but I'm in need of some advice that's based on experience and knowledge. I have a classic Tiffany engagement ring. The band is plain and platinum. I absolutely love it and my fiance and I have begun our search for wedding bands. I really love 18k rose gold and I have been thinking of pairing my engagement ring with a plain band that is 18k rose gold. However, I have heard many people say that platinum will destroy the gold and that this isn't a good idea. I've also seen people on pricescope who wear platinum with rose gold. My question is for those people out there who wear platinum and rose gold together and if so, what are your experiences? Did the platinum mess up the rose gold? Since my rings would both be plain (no diamonds, pave etc.), would it be okay to wear the two metals together? Is it possible to buy a platinum band and have it dipped in rose gold and if so, what's that like and will it last? Thanks for any help, tips and advice!

diamondseeker2006

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
I think it is fine to wear them together. Any gold rubbing against another ring will have some wear over time, even two gold rings. I always take my rings off if in the kitchen or doing anything that could scratch or cause excessive wear, and if you do that, you'll have rings that look nicer longer. But no, platinum does not destroy rose gold.

pricescopegal10

Rough_Rock
Thank you. That's kind of what I thought, but a jeweler told me not to mix the two but the cynical part of me thinks sheshe trying to push the more expensive platinum onto me lol...

momhappy

Ideal_Rock
My E-ring is platinum and my wedding band is rose gold. No, my platinum ring hasn't "destroyed" my rose gold band :lol: In fact, I don't notice much damage at all - outside of the normal wear and tear that occurs with any jewelry.

LawmaLlama

Shiny_Rock