carat
color
clarity

New to pearls, question akoya or ssp?

acaw2015

Brilliant_Rock
Premium
Hi!
I have been lurking in this forum, trying to learn and enjoying the beautiful pieces posted here!
I am all new to pearls but am thinking of buying a pearl pendant with only a solitaire pearl. How would you advise a total newbie re akoya AAA vs white ssp AAA? Size? I would love to hear your thoughts. If you were only allowed one, which would you choose and why? Or would you get a tahitian? Price is of no concern.
Thank you in advance!

NacreLover

Brilliant_Rock
It depends on the size you're looking for and the look of the pearl. Akoya's are smaller than White south sea pearls most all the time. If you put a high quality akoya and white south sea pearl together on a table they look very different. I would suggest you go to a store that carries high quality in both types and look at them side by side and try different sizes on before ordering. P.S. My first pendant was a Tahitian enhancer. Still love and wear it.

seaurchin

Ideal_Rock
Hi, acaw. First, just an FYI, if the "AAA" is between two different vendors, that wouldn't necessarily mean they're of comparable quality since there is no standard grading system. Most vendors just use different systems to categorize their highest level pearls, their second highest level pearls, and so on. Since you are new to pearls, I'd stick to one of the trusted vendors listed here because there is so much deception online when it comes to pearls. The large vendors listed above somewhere around here also have great return policies.