shape
carat
color
clarity

Opinions on these princess cut aquas??? *pics*

zcoop7

Rough_Rock
Any opinions on the color of these aquamarines? Gemvara is making my aquamarine ring and the jeweler sent me these pics this afternoon. I am liking the shade of the two on the left, not so crazy about the last one. The first one is .62 ct, middle is .69 ct, and last is .90 ct. I also asked for measurements on all of these, I really wish I had a side view. What do you guys think? I will try to attach a pic of the setting I am getting also. Any opinions are welcome, thanks for the help.

Morgan

_170.jpeg

servlet-1.jpeg

princess-aquamarine-14k-white-gold-ring.jpg

princess-aquamarine-14k-white-gold-ring-3.jpg

movie zombie

Super_Ideal_Rock
I agree that that the two on the left have better color BUT all three are very windowed.
I like the ring you posted and I assume that is the look you want.....and that stone is not windowed.

zcoop7

Rough_Rock
I am not sure what windowed means (I am a newbie). :twirl: Is it a bad thing at all or just a personal preference? I do like the light aqua that is pictured on the ring but I have also seen some gorgeous darker ones. I was also wondering why the carat size was so varied on these but I assume cut has a lot to do with it? Thanks so much for your help!

FrekeChild

Super_Ideal_Rock
Yes, they are all windowed, and that's a cut flaw. See how they look blank and boring in the middle? Aquamarines have a low RI, so they need specific angles to not have windows. I would not buy any of those. They won't sparkle in the middle. You'll see through the stone to the metal.

This is a precision cut princess aquamarine, you can see the difference:
http://loupetroop.com/listings/loos...aquamarine-by-gene-at-precision-gem-6-dot-6mm

pregcurious

Ideal_Rock

zcoop7

Rough_Rock