shape
carat
color
clarity

When and where did you get your ears pierced?

NonieMarie

Brilliant_Rock
It took a year of begging but finally when I was in 5th grade my 8th grade girlfriend did it. First the ice, that was the worst, then a bar of soap behind the ear and a crunching sound as the upholstery needle went through. My second was done when I was in my early 20's with a gun....ouch that time it hurt.
I had my daughter's done when she was a couple months old.

packrat

Super_Ideal_Rock
I did my brother's ear in the kitchen when he was a Freshman, I was a Sophomore. Ice cube/potato. Then I did a couple people in the girls locker room at school and the principal said no more.

ericad

Ideal_Rock
Trade
Got my first ones at 4 or 5, at a piercing shop with my mom using the gun (circa 1980/1981). Got 2nd and 3rd holes done when I was 12 or so. Also at the mall piercing shop with the gun. Got a cartilage piercing at age 14-ish, but it never healed right (tried twice) and had to let it close up both times.

DD begged to have hers done for her 6th bday so I took her to the mall because I wanted them both done simultaneously. They used the gun (piercing pagoda). I would have preferred a piercing/tattoo place, but they do them one at a time and I didn't want that.

Funny story - leading up to the big day, I told DD that they use a piercing "gun" but never described it. Up until they actually pierced her, she was expecting them to literally fire earrings at her from a distance using an actual gun! Hahahaha, the good part was that when they punctured her ears, she didn't even realize they had already done it. She thought that was still some part of the prep work because she was waiting for them to step back a few paces, guns blazing. :lol:

Healing her ears was a battle, until I discovered a product called H2Ocean. AWESOME stuff - throw out any disinfectant you get from the piercing place and use H2Ocean instead! It's the bomb.