shape
carat
color
clarity

Cartier excellent cut diamond, HCA only 4.6?

silencer

Rough_Rock
Newbie here. I'm looking at a Cartier diamond ring, 0.9 carat, excellent cut/polish/symmetry. I used the online Holloway Cut Adviser and obtained a result of merely 4.6. Is this normal?

Thanks for any help.

Roxy

Brilliant_Rock
Re: Cartier excellent cut diamond HCA only 4.6?

Hi! You want to get an HCA score below 2, so 4.6 isn't in the best cut range. It doesn't mean that the diamond is ugly or anything like that (many other factors like color, clarity, etc come into play), it just means that it's not a spectacularly well cut stone.

distracts

Ideal_Rock
Premium
You want a score under 2 for a well cut round brilliant. Many if not most Cartier, Tiffany, etc diamonds do not obtain that result. They DO manage to pick diamonds that aren't dogs, but while they're good performers, many here have noticed they're not TOP performers. You really need to pick if you want an ideally cut diamond or a brand name ring, because it's hard to get both.

diamondseeker2006

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
Unfortunately we have seen this many times from Cartier, Tiffany, etc. It pays to check, because honestly, if I am paying for the brand name, I absolutely want a top cut quality stone as well. You are probably fine with a lot of stones in the 2-3 range. But I wouldn't do a 4.6, personally.

Laila619

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
distracts|1356743810|3341876 said:
You want a score under 2 for a well cut round brilliant. Many if not most Cartier, Tiffany, etc diamonds do not obtain that result. They DO manage to pick diamonds that aren't dogs, but while they're good performers, many here have noticed they're not TOP performers. You really need to pick if you want an ideally cut diamond or a brand name ring, because it's hard to get both.

Yes, the diamonds won't be total dogs, but they are not always the best.

Niel

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
silencer|1356743301|3341868 said: