shape
carat
color
clarity

Keeping your priorities straight . . .

Person24

Shiny_Rock
I have been working as an attorney for a little over 6 months now. Prior to that I had always been a student or had a relatively low stress job. I find myself losing sense of what is really important (i.e. my friends, my husband, my family) and always thinking about work and putting everything else on the back burner. I really do not like that I am becoming this workaholic person who constantly thinks about work. I feel like it could end up badly for me. But I am having a hard-time forcing myself to keep my priorities in line with what I think they should be. (i.e. I spent all morning reading work e-mails and worrying about work). Any advice on keeping what is REALLY important in view

movie zombie

Super_Ideal_Rock
if you're at a law firm you're doing exactly what is expected and you will make partner on time.

"name" law firms expect that they will be the priority.......

if you're at a 'no-name' firm or "boutique" firm, well, i'd say your still doing what you need to do as you're still in your first year.

not much nelp, right?!

do find time each day to do something that is not job and/or legal related and is just for you. could be sitting under a shade tree for 30 minutes. doesn't have to be elaborate.

you are fortunate to have a job.....i say that in all seriousness.
i've seen a lot of law school students take jobs way below what they trained.

good luck.

Person24

Shiny_Rock
Move Zombie,

I like my job and know I am lucky to have found a good job in such a crappy market (and hey I am not even working this Saturday!). I just fear becoming someone who lives to work. I know my husband is having a hard time adjusting to my new schedule (and he thought law school was bad).

movie zombie

Super_Ideal_Rock
yes, law school is all theory.....and there is a price to be paid for being successful in a successful law firm.