shape
carat
color
clarity

Platinum vs. White Gold

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

Kevin2005

Rough_Rock
Hey all,

I''ve been looking a lot at engagement rings in the past month (so glad I found this site) and am trying to decide between platinum and white gold. A salesperson at a local jewellers tried to convince me that white gold is superior to platinum as it doesn''t scratch.

Anyone have any opinions on which is better? Pros and cons?

Kylie

Rough_Rock
I am not an expert but I can give you my experience. My first wedding set was white gold, I have platinum now. The white gold did show some slight scrathes, my platinum does show more but I don't mind
1.gif
The biggest problem I had with my white gold setting was that after time it would turn yellow and I had to take it in to get the rhodium redone. After awhile it got to be a pain so I decided platinum was the way to go for me.

Iceman

Brilliant_Rock
They both scratch and dent.

Platinum wears longer.

White gold is easier to buff and clean up.

Best combo is a Platinum head and a white gold shank. Best of both worlds and you will have the look and save a lot of money.

I have my choice of everything and I wear white gold. But its personal preference. People think that since I own the store its platinum
1.gif

The Iceman

Iceman

Brilliant_Rock
You will also find out in the future that most people working at a jewelry store , worked at Orange Julius a week before selling hotdogs or is a house wife looking for a part time job. Its hard to find good job knowlege at most stores. This place here is your best source for the truth. We are kind of what you call Myth busters
1.gif

Best Regards
The Iceman

Kevin2005

Rough_Rock
Haha... that's why I'm posting here!

niceice

Brilliant_Rock
----------------
On 10/22/2004 10:07:56 AM Iceman wrote: