shape
carat
color
clarity

where to get the best diamond prices

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

windowshopper

Ideal_Rock
hi
what is the opinion of all you experts: will i get the best prices through a web vendor or a nyc jewelry district source?

bar01

Brilliant_Rock
I am no expert.

(below edited from orginal post to remove information not relevant)

That’s a difficult question to answer.

I think the question/issue is how to comparison shop (apples to apples) between the diamonds listed with the vendors here on PS and those at a local B&M stores.

Also with regards to price - you do not pay sales taxes if you buy from a web vendor outside your state (ahem ----but of course you should claim this on your IRS statement – right?).

Bottom line – I think a local jeweler could be competitive but I don’t think they would be lower cost. However, if you know exactly what your specs are you can go into a local store and give him/her a chance to meet specs and the price you found online.

windowshopper

Ideal_Rock
thank you ---but if one is looking at cushion cuts do all those reports and such apply?

bar01

Brilliant_Rock
Oh - did not know you were talking about that type of diamond. Thats why I stated that I was no expert. I do not believe those reports work for your shape.

I looked at this site for information

AGA Cut

I will bow out and let someone else reply.

Sorry (original post above edited)

solange

Brilliant_Rock
I spent a lot of time looking in the NYC Diamond District for a stone. I found that it was difficult to get any information other than what was on the GIA report and that is insufficient because it does not give specifics as to cut.