shape
carat
color
clarity

The Running Thread

Blackpaw

Ideal_Rock
Wow VC you've done so much racing!! awesome work =) im training for my first race, a 10k. I fancy trying a half marathon but i just dont know if i enjoy it enough.

Golden, i can understand your interest starting to waiver - im no expert but i dont think walking would have the same affect. If you can i would definitely try to get out to run - i find it much easier than the treadmill. In fact, when winter comes here ill stop running altogether because i just dont like to run on the treadmill...

Im doing pretty good - a week and a half til my 10k! today i did 10k in an hour and either 1 minute or 2 :praise: im pleased, as im hoping to do the race in under an hour and 5...the race course has a bit more variation than where i ran today, but i feel like thats a pretty good set-up for myself.

So im going to do shorter runs the next couple of days, then do a long run on Sunday (hopefully ill do the actual race course),then im into race week. the race is on the saturday, and i had planned to do a long run (9-10k) on the wednesday, a short run/walk on the Thursday then rest friday - is the long run overkill? i dont want to wreck myself the week before :bigsmile:

vc10um

Ideal_Rock
Thanks, Blackpaw! Half marathons for me are great because I have to train for them, but they don't completely destroy my body, and I only need the rest of the day to recouperate instead of, say a week to two weeks for a marathon. But a full is on my bucket list. Just not yet. ETA: As far as your race goes, you know your body best. For a 10K I'd say ideally you would want to do your longest run 2 weeks prior to the race. A week and a half out might still be okay...it just depends on how you recover!!!