shape
carat
color
clarity

Heirloom as an engagement ring????

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

Sam J

Rough_Rock
Hello everyone,

So I'm new to this site, but I really need some advice regarding an engagement ring for my proposal to my girlfriend. I inherited a ring from my great grandfather with two diamonds on it with one meant for me and one meant for my brother. I recently got one of the diamonds pulled from the ring to get it appraised.

It's 0.7 karats, it's an older cut (early 20th century) but still sparkles very nicely. I think it's very pretty (you can obviously tell I'm a novice when it comes to diamonds but oh well).

So here's my question: should I use this stone for an engagement ring? I think it's pretty romantic and think that my girl would like the idea but I'm not sure if I should look into buying a slightly larger stone. The only thing is that I'm a graduate student right now and don't have a ton of money at this point in my life. I mainly want to know a women's perspective on being proposed to with an heirloom ring.

Thanks sooooo much for any feedback!!!!

jcarlylew

Ideal_Rock
i am using an heirloom piece, so i might be a bit biased here.

i think its a LOVELY idea, however get it appraised first.

if you are concerned about her not liking the ring, buy a simple setting and let her know that you want to pick out the setting with her.

congrats!

Loves Vintage

Ideal_Rock
Premium
I think it's an absolutely lovely idea! Do you have any pics of the stone that you can post here? Any photos of the ring before the stone was removed? The stone is likely an Old European Cut aka OEC. If you search OEC on here, you will find that there is quite the following here for OECs.