shape
carat
color
clarity

Question about new Akoya necklace

HintsofRose

Rough_Rock
I'm very new to pearls, I've always wanted a necklace and finally, for Valentines day, I decided, what was I waiting for? I ordered the 9/9.5 Silver Baroque Akoyas. I wore them on Valentines Day and they felt absolutely wonderful.

My question is, does this look like a natural flaw to you? I don't expect each pearl to be perfect, but this looks more like damage from a tool to me, rather than a natural variation. Also, should the silk be fraying like this already?

Thanks for any feedback.

pearls_4.jpg

pearls_5.jpg

pearlsngems

Ideal_Rock
Premium
Hi HintsofRose!

1. Yes, they look like naturally-ocurring blemishes. This happens with baroques.

2. Silk tends to fray. This is one of the reasons I prefer synthetic threads.

• It frays with use. Were these pre-owned? If they were new, was the silk frayed when you first got them?
• It frays where the loose end is trimmed after back-knotting. Is this an endless stand? (i.e. no clasp.)
• It frays if while knotting, a knot forms where you doesn't want one and you have to pick it apart (been there, done that)
• It can fray after it is washed. Did you give the pearls a bath?

The important thing is that it isn't frayed enough to endanger the integrity of the knot or to risk the thread breaking.

I would say, enjoy the pearls and do not worry about these little details.

HintsofRose

Rough_Rock
Hello Back, Pearlsngems!

I appreciate your feedback, I just had to ask as it was on my mind, its reassuring to know that it's just the nature of baroques. They were a bit of an investment for me, and ordering online sight unseen did make me wonder.

These are brand new, they're an 18" strand. I ordered them from Pearl Paradise, there is a clasp. I don't think I would dare to get them wet enough to give them a bath, they get wiped down and stored after I wear them.

Thanks so much for the reassurance, I will definitely continue enjoying them.