shape
carat
color
clarity

International Gem Show??

relysa

Rough_Rock
Hi!

I am new in the world of learning about gemstones. I have been reading posts here about diamonds, but I also want to learn about other gemstones and pearls too, and I know I need to see them in person to see what I have been reading about.

I also posted this topic in Rocky talky.

So, I really want to see a lot of gems ,unfortunately B&M doesn't have a lot of natural gemstones and if they have, there is not much pieces to compare it from. I have been wanting to attend gem shows, I found this "International Gem and Jewelry Show" in LA and Santa Monica.

For those of you who have attended the same show in the past ,especially in SoCal. I need your inputs please.

I have been wondering if it's worth to attend this show. Do they have vendors with natural stones and/or pearls, as well as good and reputable jewelers. There are vendors listed at the website, but the names/companies are not familiar to me nor have read in this forum .

I am particularly interested in seeing precious stones and pearls (freshwater,Akoya and south sea to compare and contrast) and to see the luster and color in person because I know pictures doesn't show any justice to these beauties! :)

Here's the link for the show:

http://www.intergem.com/

Thank you in advance! :)

Gem Queen

Brilliant_Rock
HI.
I go to this gem show all the time. I have literally spent thousands and thousands of dollars there.
there are great vendors and some I wouldn't give a penny to.
There is a vendor called Daisy Blue. He makes all hand made settings. They are incredible. I did purchase one. It is far from inexpensive, but well worth it. I will be there this friday. Here is the setting that I got from him.
Ask a lot of questions. If you don't know something, ask them. there are more good vendors there than not.
Happy Shopping.

_16621.jpg

Pearlescence

Brilliant_Rock
Trade