shape
carat
color
clarity

What should I do?!

Flashdance16

Rough_Rock
Hi All,

I'm a newbie here but I've been lurking for a couple of months (and have learned A TON). My FF and I have been together for a year and a half, and I'm 99.99% sure he's going to propose before the end of the summer. At his bday party a few weeks ago his best friend and I were talking, and he told me to think about what I wanted for an e-ring and send him the specs, so I think my guy is up to something. This kind of took me off guard but I agreed. I've spent the last few weeks researching and trying on styles and I've got it figured out. I even found the jeweler that I want to make the setting!

The only problem is, in all of this research/shopping/etc I've started to wonder if this isn't something my FF and I should be doing together. I understand that he probably wants it to be a surprise, but since his friend has asked me to send him what I want I feel like the element of surprise is kind of gone. I have no idea what his budget is, and knowing him he'll be completely willing to blow it just to make me happy. I don't want him to do that. Should I bring up the topic and suggest we do this together (meaning I can tell him what I want, we can design the setting together, and he can select the centre stone) or should I just keep the charade up and hope that what I'm asking for isn't way over his budget?

Q

Queenie60

It's not a surprise since his best friend gave it away to you. I would come clean with your boyfriend and let him know that you're aware of this. I feel that since you know about the "surprise" you should not hide it from him. Not nice of his best friend to give it away and not a good way to begin a marriage with secrets; and I'm sure that it gives his friend the impression that you're willing to hide things from your future husband. I hope that his friend did not have ill intentions and just blabbed too much.

Flashdance16

Rough_Rock