shape
carat
color
clarity

Spoof Paypal E-mail Scam

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

marvel

Brilliant_Rock
Hi everyone, I thought I''d just share an experience I had this week to hopefully prevent someone else from being scammed.

I received and e-mail from Paypal saying that my account had limited access and to click on the resolution center link to enable my access. Everything was very official/PAYPAL looking. I followed the link, and could have swore I was in PAYPAL, even though I had a gut feeling that something was odd. The next day my bank called and said I was a victim of identity theft
emangry.gif
. Someone had been making charges with my debt card in Bocaraton. Luckily, the bank caught it and called me!

I''ve heard of these scams before...I''m very computer savy...I work in IT and I still got scammed!
emcry.gif

I just wanted to bring this to your attention so you don''t do what I did. If you get any e-mails from PAYPAL, call them to verify. Or, send the e-mail directly to [email protected]. They will tell you if it is legitimate, or not.

sevens one

Ideal_Rock
OMG that''s awful.

I got the same thing and didn''t do anything. I wasn''t sure what it was.
I told hubby about the email and he said "DON''T OPEN IT"
thank goodness he was right.

Thanks for sharing your experience.
Good thing the bank caught it. Geez darn scam artists.

FireGoddess

Super_Ideal_Rock
YES - FYI, I get a lot of spoof emails claiming to be ebay and paypal. Don''t open these!!!!!!!! They are all hackers trying to get access to your accounts.

Paypal and Ebay will never contact you directing you to log in to your account!

mrssalvo

Super_Ideal_Rock
Date: 1/6/2006 5:24:40 PM
Author: FireGoddess
YES - FYI, I get a lot of spoof emails claiming to be ebay and paypal. Don''t open these!!!!!!!! They are all hackers trying to get access to your accounts.