shape
carat
color
clarity

Sickened watching the Olympics

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

galeteia

Brilliant_Rock
Here is this gorgeous display of artistic brilliance, and all I can think of is the disgusting oppression and abuse suffered by Tibet.

All I see is a nation''s PR wheels in overdrive. These statements about China believing in the harmonious energy of all life, harmony between man and nature, fuzzy wuzzies abound! Etc, etc, and yet there are sellers on Ebay advertising ''heirloom jewelery from Tibet, passed down through generations of Tibetan families'' that has obviously been stolen from said families. Protesters are currently enjoying relative freedom from being beaten, arrested, and even killed thanks to the PR-conscious environment of the Olympics.

Ugh.

As a theatre designer, I should be jumping up and down on my couch but instead I just feel angry, depressed, and disgusted by the hypocrisy.

pennquaker09

Brilliant_Rock
I felt that we should have not participated.

CrookedRock

Brilliant_Rock
I Tivo''d it and only got halfway through... I have to say though... That was one hell of a show!
The drums that lit up were so cool. Do they think they will sell them?
3.gif

HollyS

Ideal_Rock
Date: 8/9/2008 3:58:56 AM
Author: pennquaker09
I felt that we should have not participated.
No country should have participated.

And I won't watch.

diamondfan

Super_Ideal_Rock
China is hypocritical and it is tough to watch, but I respect the athletes who trained so hard, as the mother of a runner I know the hard work that goes in. China should not have been chosen, that is my view. Besides having the worst air quality which is harmful to the athletes, I also heard they pushed people out of their homes in order to build facilities for the games. People were thrown out of their homes and China is presenting this lovely together front for the world.