shape
carat
color
clarity

Foreign Expats/Immigration Discussion

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

galeteia

Brilliant_Rock
To avoid derailing the Dem thread any further, I thought it prudent to set up a new thread for immigration gossip.

Note: I am not a lawyer, just a Canadian who immigrated to the US to be with my partner. We used VisaJourney for all our paperwork and it has been a blessing. We avoided the need for a lawyer by using VJ as a resource. It was PS'' own TravellingGal who recommended it, thanks as always, TG!

So, if anyone has questions about the process, I will happily do my best to answer them based on personal, layperson-only experience.

Date: 10/10/2008 5:15:36 PM
Author: Lannie
How long ago did you apply for the K-1? Congrats on the job! When I got here, I was out of work for 11 months because of how delayed some of my paperwork was getting in (I had a TERRIBLE lawyer). Getting my first job was awesome. Did you apply for advance parole yet? I had to apply for emergency advance parole when my grandmother passed away and I needed to go to the funeral. I got it then and there, but apparently if you apply for it the regular way, it can take up to 3 months.

We applied in Sept 2006. Hence my signature. Thanks for the congrats, I''m pretty thrilled. I wasn''t terribly keen because the pay was so low, but based on my experience and how impressed they were at my interview, my starting pay is higher than the usual introductory rate.

We got married a few days after I activated my K-1. As in, arrived Sunday night, researched license options on Monday, got the mandatory 3-day hold on license waiver and license on Tuesday, got married on Wednesday. Chilled on Thursday. Just kidding.
2.gif
Actually, I think we went to get my SSN on Thursday or Friday and then spent the weekend celebrating being in the same timezone.