shape
carat
color
clarity

Any apple pie tips?

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

MichelleCarmen

Super_Ideal_Rock
My kids want to make an apple pie and I''ve never made one before so I''m hoping for cooking tips. (I''ve desperately tried talking my kids out of it and saying it''d be more fun to make a pumpkin pie, but my son is insisting I make one - as I promised - lol, so I feel guilty not following through on this one. . .)
1.gif

neatfreak

Super_Ideal_Rock
Best secret is to bake it on low as long as humanly possible, don''t try to bake it quickly. At least 2 hours. That''ll just make the apples literally melt and it''s amazing.

Skippy123

Super_Ideal_Rock

Haven

Super_Ideal_Rock
I made my first apple pies a little while ago after we went apple picking.

Now, I''m a total novice so don''t laugh at me for not knowing this, BUT I didn''t put a baking sheet under my first pie to catch all of the goo that oozes out of the pie. It was really burnt and nasty by the time the pie was done, so put a baking sheet under your pie to save yourself a lot of clean up! (And my entire kitchen was filled with smoke, too. It was a disaster.) The pie tasted like heaven, though.

Also, overstuff your pie, the apples deflate so pile up as many as you can to get a nice, full pie.
I used a mix of three different types of apples recommended for pies, I think I found that info on an apple orchard website.

Don''t forget the vanilla ice cream!

I bought a great apple slicer/peeler/decorer at Williams Sonoma. I highly recommend one, it makes the entire process go so quickly.

MichelleCarmen

Super_Ideal_Rock
Thanks *so* much for mentioning the baking sheet. That is something I wouldn''t have thought of AT ALL!
1.gif
lol I''m not much of a baker.