shape
carat
color
clarity

Spessartite Garnet (mandarin)

becpics

Rough_Rock
Hi,
I'm very new to this whole gem thing but I am recently engaged and having a mandarin garnet made into a ring. I'd love your opinions on the stone and settings I have chosen and would love to see some of yours.
My garnet is an oval cut 4.69ct mandarin from Namibia almost eye clean.

_8110.jpg

_8111.jpg

becpics

Rough_Rock
Oops forgot to mention that the garnet will be bezel set with a miligrain edge instead of the claw set pictured.

Rosebloom

Ideal_Rock
Wow!!! That will be amazing!

It would look scrumptious in yellow gold too...

chrono

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
A 5 ct garnet is fairly large to be worn EW, especially with a halo added. Do you have the finger real estate for it? Not sure if you are aware that you'll need to baby this ring, meaning removing it once home, not sleeping in it and such as spessartite is not durable enough as an everyday wear ring. MZ has one for an e-ring and takes very good precautions.

becpics

Rough_Rock
Yep I definitely have the finger real estate for it I think I'm an S1/2 in Australian sizing on my ring finger (I think that's about a 10 in US sizes?) I'm a big girl so big is better I think in my case ;-)
I'm very careful with my jewellery also and already own a few rather fragile coloured stones and always remove them if there is any risk of them being damaged.
Thanks however for your advice I much appreciate it.

movie zombie

Super_Ideal_Rock